J1772 Charging socket

Remember when i dissassembled chrashed Opel Ampera and took its parts? Well among those parts i got a charging cable and a J1772 Level 1 charging socket from that car. Since i will be using 3kW Eltek charger for my primary charging i decicded that single phase will be enough.

I sorted out the cables and put a good 2.5mm2 on the main phase lines. I will rout that to the charger. I kept thin signal wires so that they will signal start of charge to Arduino monitoring chip i will use to control charging system.

I mounted the charging socket inside 406 gas filling hatch. It was a quick job of drilling  3 holes and torquing some bolts. Since socket was exposed to elements in Ampera it was already sealed and i dont need to provide additional protection. Well maybe i will put a tube over that connector.

Now i need to find some flat springs to replace the plastic that broke in original hatch.  I think of riveting some 8mm thin spring steel to keep hatch opened.

 

Leave a comment