Busted rear mount

My negligence caught up with me. If you remember from the motor mounting post i made a rather flimsy rear mount and convinced myself that torque will only pass through it in one direction. Well DOH! Torque passes through it from two sides…sometimes more than one reversals in a second! This really stressed the 12mm bolt which was fixed only from one side. And last weekend it broke just as i was trying to setup the motor parameters.

Of course motor was jumping at less than ideal settings and caused additional stress in the single mounting point. This sheared the bolt clean off.

I went back to the drawing board and this time i decided to make a propper fork mount with a box fixture. I welded the box on my first try and it seemed it would work.

But i noticed the rear edge of the box leans over to the HPAS body! That is unacceptable and prone to damage. So i decided to cut the box from the plate and reweld it at an angle, so that rear box part would clear the HPAS body behind the motor. There will be a lot of welding involved still!!!

I did a little remodelling on the rear side of the mount. I reduced its height and put in a bit of taper. I also canted the whole assembly upwards so that it will clear the HPAS casing by a good 15mm. I brushed it with epoxy paint to protect it. This paint is really hard when it sets, so i dont mind those brush drops. Later on i will also spray it black as is the whole undercarriage.

Leave a comment