406 Coupe central locking retrofit

When i bought my 406C Pug i didnt much thought about keys and immobilizer. My main task was to convert the car to EV.

I made a spare key in case i would lock original in the car… However after i was already driving the car it became apparent i cant connect to higher functions on the BSI and BSM which are still in the car. Caveat was that for any communication with PP2000 car needed to have transponder present. But due to my conversion i could use the car without any issues once i would move the key to start position. I didnt complain though.

I have attempted to reprogram my spare keys and cars remote circuit multiple times which allways ended with engineer surrendering to the whims of Peugeot.


Recently i bought 15€ central locking kit from Aliexpress. I have decided to try and retrofit this central locking to my car. My objectives were:
1. have a functioning remote lock/unlock of Pug doors and boot.
2. have an option to raise the windows with door locking.
3. control of car blinkers e.g. find function.

First Eric found a schematic for me.

It shows 3 wires going from BSI to the back. At first it was a bit confusing since it showed system would use all three wires. Why? There are only two doors and a boot which can be locked via doors anyway. For the 3rd wire it wouldnt need a relay. Well turns out when Pug enters deadlock function of those wire is reversed.

Long story short i ended up using only two wires. On the schematic they are marked as 3 and 4 pins of 16 pole black connector on BSI.
Pin 3, orange wire is unlock command
Pin 4, violet wire is lock command
Pin 10, gray wire provides common GND. I dont use its deadlock function.

Then i tried to find blinker command wire on BSI to wire blinkers to a new central locking.
They are located on the same 16pin connector in place of pin 15 and pin 14.

Finally i had to find command to raise windows. I found it on 12pin connector, wire 4. This was trickier since that pin is pulled up inside BSI and you can activate it only by propper signal timing. No more than 0.5s of pulling that pin to GND. Any more and system refuses action.

When i was searching for permanent +12V and GND to connect my central locking box i found possible wires on the green 16pin connector. BSI has permanent power through those wires.
Wire no. 16, gray was +12V and no. 12 yellow/green is GND. I spliced the wires and secured them in.

I found out that for now i cant use one signal – trunk opening. I will think on how to use that. Possible use woud be remote webasto preheater start or maybe to project %SOC so i can see it from afar.

All functions are now tested and work. Even window raising, despite it being rather finicky. One needs to quickly lock and unlock the car in timeframe of 0.5s for the windows to raise.

Leave a comment