Throttle pedal

I have sucessfuly used Prius throttle pedal for like 5 years now. Lately i have bought Auris pedal and also one Yaris pedal, but this one was from british RHD car. All of them use the same hall sensors and they even share the same connector. Prius P/N is 78110-12050, but rest are the same sensor.
They are 5V powered and signal is simple linear voltage function from 0.8V/1.2V to 3.8V/4.2V.
This has smaller connector than early Prius pedals. I have found it is sold as Toyota 90980-12303 Plug Connector Kit. It seems to also fit to later model Prius.

Pin 6 – Wiper 1 (Blue)
Pin 5 – Ground (Black)
Pin 4 – 5v + (Yellow)
Pin 3 – Wiper 2 (White)
Pin 2 – Ground (Red)
Pin 1 – 5v + (Green)

Pins 4,5,6 work from 0.8V – 3.8V

I removed Pugs throttle pedal and tried how Prius pedal would fit in its place.
I like Prius throttle pedal very much. It is 2x hall sensors very easy to connect. Both sensors can output from 0.8V to 3.6V or 3.3V.

However now i see there are some pipes in the way in Pug. I see now why Peugeot would want to bend its pedal in some unnatural angle.
I will buy Auris pedal since it is made out of metal rod like Pugs and that will allow me to weld the Pug pedal rod to the Auris pedal.
Also i will have to make a flat holder interface for the pedal to be bolted onto.

So i bought Auris pedal and cut the lever wire. I also cut the lever from Peugeot pedal so that i got aproximately the same distance from the pivot point. I think geometry will stay the same that way.

Next i quickly welded both wires. I had to be precise in positioning both wires, so i cut some straight plane into round levers. When i welded them i quickly hosed them with water so that hot wire wouldnt melt plastic anchor.

Leave a comment