Swapping batteries

Mazda developed a fault in form of rear brake return spring. I am now dragging a semi locked wheel behind me and heating up the caliper. To fix it i will require a stand and workshop. So decision was taken to use what we have and continue driving.

I decided to transfer 98s Kokam LiPo battery from Mazda to Peugeot and test for range.

First i removed the Ampera battery from pug, its supports and BMS, set it aside and prepared surface inside battery box.

I decided to use several layers of 2mm rubber mat. It is static neutral material and isolator. I decided on 2 layers of floor and one layer wall lining with a sort of final wrap for the battery modules in the assembly.

I used basicaly the same contact material from Mazda. A brass angle grounded and cut to length. Since current limit is 230A i could get away with 25mm2 cable, but i always use 35mm2 or brass angle equivalent cross section.

Battery box was originaly designed around those cells. Two packets of 8S cells are connected one on the other. Also the next one . Contacts are facing on the inside and module shape is supporting the neighbouring module.

Everything fits with some space in the middle for wooden separator. Yes i used wood for separator between cell contacts on the inside as well as a mount for BMS PCBS.

On the lower left there is a space left because i couldnt fit another cell module and i decide to use this space to fit Ampera fuse disconnect. I used wooden board and cut it to length. On this board i glued and screwed a wooden block to support the weight of the batteries from the incline. On that wooden board i also mounted the original fuse mount.

Warning! This battery has limitation on discharge at 230A. So i set this limit in inverter. It works beautifully and restricts draw to exactly 230A. This also limits acceleration somewhat, but max speed is not impared. I can still get to 150km/h.

I still need to connect the BMS to a sort of master module which will signal battery “EMPTY” state.

EDIT: I managed to get to work with 66% fuel left and that means 50km predominantly highway driving at 120km/h. On my way back i drove more leisurely at 100km/h and when i arrived home i got left some 38% fuel. From that i deduce i would be able to drive like 150km for my 100% SOF.

I leave some 15% from SOC out of SOF to extend general battery health. This 15% would serve to cover any battery inequalities and some safety in case of adverse weather conditions surprise me while traveling.

Leave a comment